Maori Postal Aotearoa

Maori Postal Aotearoa is a society incorporated under the Charitable Trusts Act, 1957, and functions as a Gospel literature outreach to people throughout Aotearoa. The society produces material that is available to all groups who desire to use it. 

From The Superintendents Desk

maori koru

Graham and Evelyn Batson

Evelyn was raised in Hopelands, a farming district near Woodville. She worked among the youth of the district, particularly in Girls Rally and Maori Sunday School. She had an excellent acceptance among both young and old and still has contacts from those days. Evelyn spent 11 years working in an accountant’s office in Pahiatua, having a natural talent for bookkeeping and general office duties and proved a valuable asset to her employer.

Graham also came from a farming background and learned good work ethic by having to assist in the milking shed and various other duties before and after school for several years. He commenced work as a Linotype operator apprentice at the Manawatu Evening Standard in 1961 and worked for the newspaper in that capacity for almost 10 years. Following this he had employment in various other printing firms including two years at the Gospel Publishing House. 

During this time he was involved in various aspects of Christian ministry including open air preaching, beach missions, speaking in churches and literature distribution. For three years he boarded with Mr and Mrs Jim Wall, in Palmerston North, where he was introduced to Christian ministry 

008 Raumati.JPG

among the Maori people. Upon the passing of Mr Wall he took on the editorship of the report magazine for the Maori work, “Te Mahi Maori”.

Graham and Evelyn were married in 1973 and lived at Foxton Beach for almost three years and in 1975 were approached by Mr Fred Fox (who was superintendent of Maori Postal Sunday School at the time) concerning becoming involved in the ministry. Subsequently they moved with their two daughters to Wanganui early in 1976. In 1982, following Mr Fox’s retirement, they were appointed as superintendents.